Men's Swimming Seeks Another Conference Crown in 2017-18

GENESEO, N.Y. - The SUNY Geneseo men's swimming & diving team opens the 2017 campaign on Saturday at Erie Community College in a dual match against NCAA Division I affiliate Canisius College. Head coach Paul Dotterweich has the Knights in position to capture another State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) title, returning 15 members of the 2016 championship-winning squad.  

The Knights return five qualifiers from the NCAA Division III Swimming & Diving Championships as senior diver Samuel Randall and the relay team of seniors Jeff Doser, Derek Secord and Scott Guyton and junior Matthew Modelewski all come back to the squad. All five were SUNYAC All-Conference selections and will be joined again this season by fellow 2017 SUNYAC All-Stars junior Clark Davis, sophomores Matt Mattera and Mitchell Phelps and senior Lyle Wagner.

Six new faces will join the Geneseo roster this season, as the Knights welcome first-years John Baker, Will Eng, Michael Ferguson, Harry Harkins and Joe La Bianca as well as junior transfer Denzel Flowers. Flowers and Ferguson will join Randall to add depth to the diving unit while Baker, Eng, Harkins and La Bianca will be expected to contribute in several swimming events this season.

Geneseo will open the year with a dual meet against NCAA Division I foe Canisius on Saturday, Oct. 28. The team will face Grove City and Fredonia (Nov. 4), Cortland (Nov. 11) and Ithaca and Hartwick (Nov. 18) before competing in the Ithaca Invitational in early December. Over the winter break, both the men's and women's swimming and diving teams will travel to Puerto Rico for a training trip. The squad returns in the new year to face Case Western Reserve (Jan. 20) and Rochester (Jan. 26 & 27) before hosting the annual Geneseo Invitational at Erie Community College in Buffalo. The squad will gear up for the SUNYAC Championships in late February, also hosted by Erie Community College. Qualifiers for the NCAA Division III National Championships will travel to Indianapolis, Ind. (March 14-17) to compete.